Chademo Controller Development
- larsrengersen
- Posts: 136
- Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 9:42 am
- Has thanked: 10 times
- Been thanked: 28 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Correct, the isolation test is indeed during the “Wait for confirmation” state.
You need to send “car in charge enable” aka “ready to receive charge”. So at that point the car contactors are closed. Only further down the process the CHAdeMO contactors close. If you open the car contactors amd thus send “car not ready to receive charge” the process will abort. See process flow here https://www.evcreate.nl/chademo-fast-ch ... mo-process
Car contactors open and CHAdeMO contactors closed does not happen.You need to send “car in charge enable” aka “ready to receive charge”. So at that point the car contactors are closed. Only further down the process the CHAdeMO contactors close. If you open the car contactors amd thus send “car not ready to receive charge” the process will abort. See process flow here https://www.evcreate.nl/chademo-fast-ch ... mo-process
-
- Posts: 85
- Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:41 pm
- Location: Western Australia
- Has thanked: 11 times
- Been thanked: 9 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Hello,
How does the web interface work with this board, I have flashed the board and I had a spare esp8266 for an inverter board I had. Do I need the flash the esp8266 with and updated web interface?
How does the web interface work with this board, I have flashed the board and I had a spare esp8266 for an inverter board I had. Do I need the flash the esp8266 with and updated web interface?
-
- Posts: 656
- Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:50 pm
- Location: Northern California, USA
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
There may have been an 'official' ESP flash for fast charge at some point. Which board do you have exactly?
I put together an interface of sorts for a specific vehicle (Tesla pack and BMS) at one point. I'll see if I can dredge it up again, no promises

On a semi-related note, I'm having issues with proximity triggering. Pin 7 gets pulled low by the station upon plugging in, and this current is enough to trigger the relays on Damien's custom boards. But a standard relay (with coil resistance of ~75 ohms) will not trigger. I suppose a mosfet is in order here.
Does anyone have numbers on the current range? I'm seeing a resistor on the EVSE side in some diagrams.
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
This question may be dumb, but, well, I'm dumb.
Do I need to do anything to the ISA shunt to set it up for use? Right now I just wired it up and that's it.
I went and attempted to charge for the first time today, and it appears that the process failed right when the board started to need info from the shunt. Frankly, it was too cold to do other trouble shooting even though I had a CAN sniffer with me.
Do I need to do anything to the ISA shunt to set it up for use? Right now I just wired it up and that's it.
I went and attempted to charge for the first time today, and it appears that the process failed right when the board started to need info from the shunt. Frankly, it was too cold to do other trouble shooting even though I had a CAN sniffer with me.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
-
- Posts: 656
- Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:50 pm
- Location: Northern California, USA
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
There is an initialization procedure in the library (it tells the shunt to send more things, changes timings, and changes endian-ness).
Assuming you're running one of the Due-based boards, the SimpleISA example has an initialization function triggered by pressing 'i' in serial monitor.
Assuming you're running one of the Due-based boards, the SimpleISA example has an initialization function triggered by pressing 'i' in serial monitor.
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
I'm using one of Damien's Chademo specific boards.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
- Bratitude
- Posts: 965
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:35 pm
- Location: Canada
- Has thanked: 154 times
- Been thanked: 334 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
One of the stm32 based boards?
I just soldered up my board, upon looking through the GitHub there’s :
https://github.com/damienmaguire/Chadem ... _HowTo.pdf
And
https://github.com/damienmaguire/Chadem ... /SimpleISA
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
I believe so. It was a complete and preprogrammed board.Bratitude wrote: ↑Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:59 am
One of the stm32 based boards?
I just soldered up my board, upon looking through the GitHub there’s :
https://github.com/damienmaguire/Chadem ... _HowTo.pdf
And
https://github.com/damienmaguire/Chadem ... /SimpleISA
I'll be honest, I've read through that several times and I'm not sure what I'm looking at, or more precisely how it helps. As I read it, the set up is done over CAN, is that correct?
I guess my next dumb question would be whether the current firmware does that setup itself or if I need to do it separately? And if the current firmware doesn't, is there a way to do so via the web interface?
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
- Bratitude
- Posts: 965
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:35 pm
- Location: Canada
- Has thanked: 154 times
- Been thanked: 334 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
small chip? then its an stmP.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: ↑Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:19 am
I believe so. It was a complete and preprogrammed board.
yeah the isa shunts are programed over can.P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: ↑Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:19 am
I'll be honest, I've read through that several times and I'm not sure what I'm looking at, or more precisely how it helps. As I read it, the set up is done over CAN, is that correct?
im guessing we have a few options here:P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: ↑Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:19 am
does that setup itself or if I need to do it separately? And if the current firmware doesn't, is there a way to do so via the web interface?
one is that the stm board dose has the initialize function in the firmware just like the due/sam based boards, so just like issac said we need to hit i in the serial console when we have the board plugged in via the serial port.
if this isnt the case maybe we can try compelling the sam/due based code onto a ardiuno due and use that as a "programer" for the isa. this seems crazy but should work just fine.
from what it looks like there isnt much in the way of a web interface for this.
ill be taking a crack at this shortly so we are in this together
https://bratindustries.net/ leaf motor couplers, adapter plates, custom drive train components
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Ok I'm starting to wrap my head around this. A couple questions:
Johannes, if I just input "i" to the custom command input on the web interface, would that be the same as inputting it via serial? The wiki is unclear to me.
EDIT: I just tried this and got an "unknown command sequence" error. The wiki says that the custom command input can be used for terminal commands that haven't been brought out to the interface, whats the correct command/procedure to do that?
If not, can anyone tell me what I need to connect to the programming port so I can access via serial? I'm not seeing a part # on the BOM or a clear pinout on the schematic.
As a side note, I really appreciate the help on this, I've committed to taking the car on a week-long event starting February 6th, so I need to make this work.
Johannes, if I just input "i" to the custom command input on the web interface, would that be the same as inputting it via serial? The wiki is unclear to me.
EDIT: I just tried this and got an "unknown command sequence" error. The wiki says that the custom command input can be used for terminal commands that haven't been brought out to the interface, whats the correct command/procedure to do that?
If not, can anyone tell me what I need to connect to the programming port so I can access via serial? I'm not seeing a part # on the BOM or a clear pinout on the schematic.
As a side note, I really appreciate the help on this, I've committed to taking the car on a week-long event starting February 6th, so I need to make this work.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
- Bratitude
- Posts: 965
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:35 pm
- Location: Canada
- Has thanked: 154 times
- Been thanked: 334 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
youll need to connect a stlink to the 3.3v, gnd, swclk and swdio pins on the programming port, i think on our boards its labeled as 'sdwprog"P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: ↑Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:50 pm
If not, can anyone tell me what I need to connect to the programming port so I can access via serial? I'm not seeing a part # on the BOM or a clear pinout on the schematic.
stlinks are cheap: https://www.amazon.ca/CANADUINO-Compati ... B07B2K6ZPK
https://bratindustries.net/ leaf motor couplers, adapter plates, custom drive train components
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Got it. I've got one on order, and I think I've figured out the pinout of the programming port on the board. Should have more to report on Friday.Bratitude wrote: ↑Mon Jan 17, 2022 5:13 pm
youll need to connect a stlink to the 3.3v, gnd, swclk and swdio pins on the programming port, i think on our boards its labeled as 'sdwprog"
stlinks are cheap: https://www.amazon.ca/CANADUINO-Compati ... B07B2K6ZPK
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
-
- Posts: 656
- Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:50 pm
- Location: Northern California, USA
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
You could also use whatever other CAN board you have available to send the required messages.
These are just pasted from the SimpleISA library in current use on the Due-based Chademo boards.
STOP command:
<code>
outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.bytes[0]=0x34;
outframe.data.bytes[1]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[2]=0x01;
outframe.data.bytes[3]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[4]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[5]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[6]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[7]=0x00;
</code>
STORE command:
<code>
outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.bytes[0]=0x32;
outframe.data.bytes[1]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[2]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[3]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[4]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[5]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[6]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[7]=0x00;
</code>
And the settings command:
<code>
for(int i=0;i<9;i++)
{
Serial.println("initialization \n");
outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.bytes[0]=(0x20+i);
outframe.data.bytes[1]=0x42;
outframe.data.bytes[2]=0x02;
outframe.data.bytes[3]=(0x60+(i*18));
outframe.data.bytes[4]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[5]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[6]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[7]=0x00;
canPort->sendFrame(outframe);
if(debug)printCAN(&outframe);
delay(500);
sendSTORE();
delay(500);
}
</code>
You go STOP, settings command, then STORE.
The incrementing for 'i' in the settings command cycles through all 9 available readings, sets them all to cyclic, sets the bit ordering, and sets the interval.
I'm really not sure what the intervals are - they are set by bytes 2 and 3 but byte 3 gets modified by the value of i for some reason.
These are just pasted from the SimpleISA library in current use on the Due-based Chademo boards.
STOP command:
<code>
outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.bytes[0]=0x34;
outframe.data.bytes[1]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[2]=0x01;
outframe.data.bytes[3]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[4]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[5]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[6]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[7]=0x00;
</code>
STORE command:
<code>
outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.bytes[0]=0x32;
outframe.data.bytes[1]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[2]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[3]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[4]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[5]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[6]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[7]=0x00;
</code>
And the settings command:
<code>
for(int i=0;i<9;i++)
{
Serial.println("initialization \n");
outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.bytes[0]=(0x20+i);
outframe.data.bytes[1]=0x42;
outframe.data.bytes[2]=0x02;
outframe.data.bytes[3]=(0x60+(i*18));
outframe.data.bytes[4]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[5]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[6]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[7]=0x00;
canPort->sendFrame(outframe);
if(debug)printCAN(&outframe);
delay(500);
sendSTORE();
delay(500);
}
</code>
You go STOP, settings command, then STORE.
The incrementing for 'i' in the settings command cycles through all 9 available readings, sets them all to cyclic, sets the bit ordering, and sets the interval.
I'm really not sure what the intervals are - they are set by bytes 2 and 3 but byte 3 gets modified by the value of i for some reason.
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
I'm trying to connect with the ST Link and hitting the limit of my knowledge. I have it wired up, and it appears in the ST Utility that it is seeing the device, but I cannot figure out how to get to the/a serial monitor.
Do I need to connect via the utility and then use something like putty? Has this already been answered somewhere?
Apologies for the dumb questions but I'm pretty far out of my depth here.
Do I need to connect via the utility and then use something like putty? Has this already been answered somewhere?
Apologies for the dumb questions but I'm pretty far out of my depth here.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
-
- Posts: 656
- Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:50 pm
- Location: Northern California, USA
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Um... Does the ST Link actually do USB-serial? I can't find anything about that in the datasheets.
Do you have a link to the firmware for these STM32 boards?
I have one myself, haven't ever used it.
Do you have a link to the firmware for these STM32 boards?
I have one myself, haven't ever used it.
- Bratitude
- Posts: 965
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:35 pm
- Location: Canada
- Has thanked: 154 times
- Been thanked: 334 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
I’m pretty sure I was reading the serial data from my Gen2 Tesla charger board with my stlink.
But now come to think of it… it was my ftdi board.
Whoops. Sorry!
At least there cheap and now you can programs any stm32 board

This I was puzzled about. I guess damien never released it publicly?
https://bratindustries.net/ leaf motor couplers, adapter plates, custom drive train components
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
If not the ST Link, how do I get a serial connection to the board?
I'm trying to avoid the Due route, because there are some older libraries that are broken, where I don't have a good one, and it won't compile. Just to get a CAN sniffer I had to use Collin's updater program. See below, which was a discussion specifically of the CAN sniffer, but I have had the problem with the other CANDue libraries as well.
https://openinverter.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2140
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Ok, I am going to attempt to use Savvy CAN to send the messages.
Isaac and/or others, would you mind looking over what I have to make sure I've got it right before I send it? I think I may have screwed up the data because hexadecimal and I are not friends.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
-
- Posts: 656
- Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:50 pm
- Location: Northern California, USA
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
18 decimal is 0x12 hex.
So for those incrementing bytes (data byte 3 counting from 0):
0x60
0x72
0x84
0x96
0xA8
0xBA
0xCC
0xDE
0xF0
That should match the original library's outputs. Not sure if those are desired values but it appears to be what works.
And perhaps a longer delay before sending the 'store' command -- I think the shunt needs time to save the values. Say 500ms? (Again copying the library.)
Otherwise all looks good!
So for those incrementing bytes (data byte 3 counting from 0):
0x60
0x72
0x84
0x96
0xA8
0xBA
0xCC
0xDE
0xF0
That should match the original library's outputs. Not sure if those are desired values but it appears to be what works.
And perhaps a longer delay before sending the 'store' command -- I think the shunt needs time to save the values. Say 500ms? (Again copying the library.)
Otherwise all looks good!
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Thank you!
I'm hoping to test tomorrow. Of course the one weekend I need good weather ends up being the one weekend we actually get snow in Raleigh.
I'm hoping to test tomorrow. Of course the one weekend I need good weather ends up being the one weekend we actually get snow in Raleigh.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Isaac, hopefully final dumb question:
Should I have seen a response over CAN after sending the initialization messages? Because I did not.
EDIT: I think I fixed my issue. It'd help if I had wired the shunt correctly. Now off to test.
Should I have seen a response over CAN after sending the initialization messages? Because I did not.
EDIT: I think I fixed my issue. It'd help if I had wired the shunt correctly. Now off to test.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Annnnddddd not yet fixed. Failed slightly later, by seconds. Previously, would fail immediately after both sides closed contactors and began charging, now it hangs there for a second or two before dropping.
Question for Damien (or others if they know): How many amps can the board provide the contactors? I have a feeling mine are drawing too much.
I'm also not certain all is well with the shunt, but I'm a bit burnt out of wrestling with it.
Question for Damien (or others if they know): How many amps can the board provide the contactors? I have a feeling mine are drawing too much.
I'm also not certain all is well with the shunt, but I'm a bit burnt out of wrestling with it.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
-
- Posts: 656
- Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:50 pm
- Location: Northern California, USA
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
Could you send a screenshot of the current and voltage messages sent by the shunt? I can plug them in and verify that format is good.
Your shunt may be in the 'wrong' direction too, I really don't know if there is any customary way to orient it (and if the current is negative when it should be positive, then the code will probably be unhappy).
Your shunt may be in the 'wrong' direction too, I really don't know if there is any customary way to orient it (and if the current is negative when it should be positive, then the code will probably be unhappy).
- Bratitude
- Posts: 965
- Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:35 pm
- Location: Canada
- Has thanked: 154 times
- Been thanked: 334 times
- Contact:
Re: Chademo Controller Development
contactors are switched via one of the relays on the board.P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: ↑Sun Jan 23, 2022 9:49 pm How many amps can the board provide the contactors? I have a feeling mine are drawing too much.
PCH-112L2MH,000
5amp 12v
Do the contactors have a econimmizer ?
https://bratindustries.net/ leaf motor couplers, adapter plates, custom drive train components
-
- Posts: 1052
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
- Has thanked: 223 times
- Been thanked: 257 times
Re: Chademo Controller Development
I'll try to get some screenshots and logs this evening or tomorrow.
Yeah, I had the shunt the wrong way; After I fixed it I did start to see some CAN traffic as a result.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed
1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed Hot Rod Drag Week 2023 and 2024
https://www.youtube.com/@MangelsdorfSpeed