Switched ADC BMS

Topics concerning OEM and open source BMSes
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

Since I'm sort of happy with the current software I put up the boards on the shop with what I think is a viable price.

https://openinverter.org/shop/index.php ... duct_id=74
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
Proton
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat May 06, 2023 2:23 am
Location: Georgia/US
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by Proton »

Hey Johannes

I do not have the BMS powering up. I am giving it 12v. + is connected to 12v and - is connected to ground.

2023-09-16-20-38-10-762.jpg
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

12V enable
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
Proton
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat May 06, 2023 2:23 am
Location: Georgia/US
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by Proton »

So do I have to connect 12v+ from 12v+ to enable and leave 12v- connected to ground?
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

Yes 12V (pins 1 and 2) is permanent and pin 3 enables the device. It must be pulled to > 2V
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
0tik
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2022 11:55 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by 0tik »

Alright. Turns out my brain is too smooth for this. The stuff about mapping and connecting to openinverter board i get. That way I can blindly believe the BMS is working and test it by applying 2v on one cell tap. If the car stops moving - it works. Problem now is that I do not have OI board and want to communicate with BMS on my computer. I have Uno board with two MCP2515 boards connected as shown here https://github.com/dkotin/can_2515/tree/master/b. Does that give the same outcome and working GVRET device for savvycan? I managed to receive stream of gibberish CAN data @ serial console in arduino IDE (default baudrate) but no luck with savvycan. I guess because it wants me to define baudrate. Radio silence/no output of any kind in savvycan. I am contemplating buying DUE and SN65HVD230 because that's what Gregski worked out in his great thread viewtopic.php?t=2385. Once this works I can start deciphering info shown in savvycan. Although If Johannes could share his neat "command line tool" shown in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oo9KyBuI2Vw and tell how to make it work, even in a way of "buy x, y, z. Set it up like this and it will work", It would make all of it easy peasy.

@Proton your question is answered here https://openinverter.org/wiki/16-cell_BMS I connected mine to 12.0V. Is this enough voltage or could be the culprit of gibberish i received in arduino IDE?
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

This is the command line tool: viewtopic.php?t=2907

I can't really help out with hardware, I'm using some CAN Due that Damien donated to me a long time ago. Everything that is supported by Linux SocketCAN will work. Don't ask about Windows.

Attached is a dbc file for the cyclic messages
Attachments
oi_16-channel_bms.dbc
(2.84 KiB) Downloaded 87 times
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
grgumxlm
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2023 10:25 am
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by grgumxlm »

First of all - thanks for adding the pinout for normal 2,54mm connectors to write the firmware so that i dont have to buy the expensive pogo-pins cable.

I tried building a whole working image but cant get it to work. I have build the bootloader from https://github.com/jsphuebner/tumanako- ... bootloader and flashed it to 0x08000000. Then i built the firmware https://github.com/jsphuebner/FlyingAdcBms and wrote it with st-link gui to 0x08001000. Afterwards the BMS board did not work (LED) any more. I wrote the backup image back and it blinking again.

Am i doing something wrong? The wiki have no notes about how to build a brand new image from scratch https://openinverter.org/wiki/16-cell_BMS
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

Ah, I think you have the board with the shift register. Since the new firmware no longer uses that it doesn't work on your board. Would need to backport this. This is the last version with shift register: https://github.com/jsphuebner/FlyingAdc ... dbf84b75d3
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
Leo M
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2020 9:48 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by Leo M »

Hello everybody! I would like to purchase this board for testing, but I am from Russia and this is probably a problem. Can anyone help with the purchase?
User avatar
midway
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 3:52 pm
Location: Ural
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by midway »

Leo M wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 5:25 am Hello everybody! I would like to purchase this board for testing, but I am from Russia and this is probably a problem. Can anyone help with the purchase?
I recently used this service https://shopfans.ru/
User avatar
Proton
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat May 06, 2023 2:23 am
Location: Georgia/US
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by Proton »

@johu

the BMS cables that go to each battery need to have the same length? If they are not equal, does that affect the voltage readings ?
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

Proton wrote: Mon Jan 15, 2024 4:57 am the BMS cables that go to each battery need to have the same length? If they are not equal, does that affect the voltage readings ?
The input impedance is 35k so I don't think differences in cable length will affect readings. While balancing no readings are taken.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

I have published the manufacturing files on Patreon https://www.patreon.com/openinverter
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
Jacobsmess
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2023 1:30 pm
Location: Uk
Has thanked: 249 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by Jacobsmess »

I'm just looking at this and wondering, can we send it CAN signals to turn on/off charging? It's not clear from the existing information what can be done.
I'm asking as my battery pack will have 33 temperature sensors, I would use 6 of these BMS for 96S but that would only give me 12 temp sensors, could I then run an STM32 or two to cover the remaining 21 temp sensors and output information over CAN to the BMS to stop charging etc? Thanks.
MLL
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 11:23 am

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by MLL »

Hello, tell me how to get the data on the can bus. soc, power, idc, delta, some of them are missing, in bms can cards. And why couldn't the soc be put in 301 ID 0, 8, 1.0?
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

https://openinverter.org/wiki/16-cell_BMS#Communication

These are predefined. Current firm doesn't allow to permanently add new ones. Delta? Thats just max-min
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
MLL
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 11:23 am

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by MLL »

It's a shame that you can't add new cards to your IDs. Please tell me, I do not understand how I can get soc data that is not in the whole byte from 0, 8, 10, 0. But in 22, 10, 10, 0. 1f4(u max, u min, uavg, tempmin, temmax) I received the data and there are no problems with them, but 12c has some problems with decryption (
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

If you have data in bytes Then

Code: Select all

soc = byte[3] + (byte[2] & 0xC0) << 2;
Easier when you have CAN data in two uint32_t

Code: Select all

soc = word[0] >> 22;
Thanks for your kind words :P
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 597
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by uhi22 »

MLL wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 9:39 am It's a shame
The project is open source, isn't it? So instead of blaming, the preferred way is to dig into, discuss your proposals for improvement, and in best case create a pull request to share your work with the community. Thanks :-)
MLL
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 11:23 am

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by MLL »

thanks a lot for the hint, after a while I was able to get the soc readings. experiment: I add in parallel in the soc interface to another ID, and it works fine for 2 bytes, so it's much more convenient to distribute the information, for me and maybe for someone else, but after turning off the bms can mapping is not saved, even if you press the save to flash button, because this is not provided by you, as I understand it, I ask you to add the function of changing the ID or adding your own in parallel. Thanks :-)
MLL
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 11:23 am

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by MLL »

[/quote]
uhi22 wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 3:05 pm The project is open source, isn't it? So instead of blaming, the preferred way is to dig into, discuss your proposals for improvement, and in best case create a pull request to share your work with the community. Thanks :-)
You probably misunderstood me, I did not criticize in any way, this is a wonderful project, and I hope it will get even better over time, it's just a very convenient feature in the inventory, Can mapping settings to suit your needs and I'm a little upset that this has not yet been implemented in bms
Leo M
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2020 9:48 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by Leo M »

Are you planning to release a new firmware? The latest release is 2.11. I would like the new release to have the ability to write your own can maps and save them for later work with the user's peripheral devices. Thanks in advance! I think this is not a difficult task for a developer.
Leo M
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2020 9:48 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by Leo M »

uhi22 wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 3:05 pm The project is open source, isn't it? So instead of blaming, the preferred way is to dig into, discuss your proposals for improvement, and in best case create a pull request to share your work with the community. Thanks :-)
these are the bugs of the translator, the person did not mean anything like that)))
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Switched ADC BMS

Post by johu »

Yes I will work on the software again, currently focusing on ccs.
Leo M wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 7:00 am I think this is not a difficult task for a developer
What's the purpose of this sentence? Another translater bug?

Ok maybe leave a quick note if text is translated so it's not taken too literal
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
Post Reply